Here's hoping this year is better than predicted!

If anyone out there was paying very close attention, they might have noticed that I completely forgot to post my ‘Career Break Month 6 Post’.  Ooops.  Sorry.  I’m not sure what I was doing on December 21st, but I imagine it had something to do with last-minute holiday preparations…and/or drinking.  In fact, I was probably drinking wine whilst wrapping gifts.  So yeah…ooops.

But now the holiday season is over and, even better, it is a brand new year.  And in 2012, instead of simply hoping that this year will be better than the last, I’m going to make it be so.  Damnit.

I kind of felt like I spent all of 2011 running from something–that something being my teaching job.  I was trying so hard to do something, anything else for a living, that I wasn’t really enjoying anything I was doing.  Which is why I’m actually happy to make this announcement–I am officially going back to my teaching job in September.

Shocking?  Maybe.  But it is all part of my new plan.  I’m still finishing my book.  I’m still enjoying my remaining time away from teaching.  And I’m still traveling as much as possible in the next eight months.  But I am going back.  For sure.

In fact, my decision to return to work will allow me to travel guilt-free, as I know that soon I’ll once again have an income.   I’ve already written about my dream destinations for 2012, and while I won’t hit all of them, I’ve spent a bit of time looking at the calendar and truly planning out the next few months.  I don’t think that one trip per month is too unreasonable, so that’s what I’m aiming for.

As it turns out, I’m not a huge fan of working from home.  I need social interaction.  I’m also not a huge fan of working for no money.  I need to be financially independent, so even if we really could live (poorly) on my husband’s income, I know that would not make me happy.  That would make me crazy.  I’m so glad I figured this out before my savings ran out and before I gave up my teaching contract.  So in a little less than eight months, back to the classroom I shall go.  And it will be fine.  I loved it before–maybe I’ll love it again.

I feel so much better now that I’ve made this decision.  I didn’t even realize how stressed I was about the whole thing.  Coming to terms with it was my New Year’s gift from the universe.  Thanks universe.  I needed that.

 

