Would you like fries with that?

In the past I’ve felt as though I should search for additional work whilst writing my book.  As you can see from my many posts on the matter, it’s been a very back-and-forth struggle between ‘have a plan B’ and ‘plan Bs are for pussies’.  Well, if that second statement is true–meow.

Of course, searching for additional work is a job in and of itself, and I’m coming upon one very serious issue–my apparent utter lack of experience.

It’s actually quite depressing when I think about it–which is why I just spent the last hour run/jog/walking and not sitting in front of my computer with my head in my hands.  You see, I’m kind of shocked by how cripplingly unqualified I am to do anything.  I mean, I have many skills–for example…

-While I’m not the next great American novelist (and I do occasionally dangle a preposition) I feel that I’m not a terrible writer.  Other people occasionally agree with me on this.  Additionally, I’ve written for a (very small) publication in the past.

-I take direction well.

-I have a better-than-average understanding of English grammar, spelling, and punctuation.  Though I do overuse commas and the em dash.

-I’m becoming a better photographer.

-I’m very, very good at vacation planning.  Actually, I’m very, very good at any kind of planning.

-I can be extremely organized.

-I am pretty good at basic web design, particularly using WordPress.  And by ‘pretty good’ I mean ‘better than the average person but not near as good as the average web designer’–but still.

-I can type something like 75 words per minute.

Additionally, I thought that I had a lot of experience.  For example, I spent eight years teaching English Language Arts in the  public school system and doing everything a job like that entails (team building, curriculum development and design, proofreading and editing, crowd control…the list goes on!)  I have created and maintained several blogs over the course of the last two and a half years–and then merged three of them together to create one uber- (and self-hosted) blog.  I have learned the importance and proper use of social media, created and designed my own website, and have planned, researched, and started drafting a rather extensive book.  I’ve planned multiple types of trips, both domestic and abroad, often in a very short amount of time.  I’ve written guest posts, been interviewed for US News and World Reports, and attended numerous writing workshops and various professional conferences.  I have a Bachelor’s Degree in English Education and a Master’s Degree in Curriculum and Instruction and Children’s and Young Adult Literature.

And the only thing that I am qualified to do is to teach public school.  Well crap.

It seems that the only kind of experience that counts for anything is paid work experience.  So it doesn’t matter that I’ve been doing all of these things for the past however many years–because I haven’t been doing them for someone–or some business–they don’t count.  And, as always, the only way to get a job is to have experience…and the only way to get experience is…say it with me now…to get a job.

Well crap.  Say it with me now…would you like fries with that? 

