As I sat down to write a post about things that bother me about not having a regular job right now, I thought–people aren’t going to like this.  They’re going to be all like ‘yeah, but the positives must outweigh the negatives!’

And those people would be absolutely right.

So today I bring you the things that I love about ‘working’ from home–working in quotes because until I see a paycheck, it’s not actually work.  Even though it is.

I love being able to go to the grocery store at 10 a.m. on a weekday.  I can contemplate brussels sprouts whilst singing along to The Monkees playing on the speaker system–because no one is there to be bothered by my terrible rendition of ‘Daydream Believer’. Even better, do you know who is definitely not at the grocery store at this hour?  Kids I used to teach.  So at no point will my little produce aisle recital be interrupted by those three syllables…’Mrs. A!’

This is not to say that I don’t enjoy running into old students when out and about.  It is just really embarrassing when you are singing to yourself or, say, buying tampons.

I love being able to look forward to doing things on the weekend.  Before, when I was working (sans air quotes), I’d be way too exhausted or, more frequently, beaten down by the end of the week and all I’d want to do on a Saturday or Sunday was sit around and watch old episodes of Little House on the Prairie whilst drinking (note:  that is definitely a sign that it is time for a change!)  But now I actually have energy–and desire–to do things.

But most of all, I love one moment of every weekday morning–it happens at precisely 8:11 a.m.  At around 8:09, the low moan and squeak of the school bus pulls up outside of my house, and all of the screaming elementary kids waiting in my driveway climb on board.  By 8:11 the bus has pulled away, the parents have wandered off, and the amazing, blissful, silent day stretches on before me.

Damn I love 8:11!  Come to think of it, 8:12 isn’t bad either . Or 8:13…14…15…

