Tags

,

Unfortunately, the fact that it is 'In full color!' does not make me 'any less stupid!'

On my last trip to Walt Disney World, a young woman asked me to take a photo of her and her partner in front of the Japan pavilion.  She handed me this very intimidating-looking camera and struck a pose.  As I gazed through the viewfinder–something I’d not done in maybe ten years–and pressed down on the button (button?), something magical happened.  The camera made this little click-y noise and something inside of it purred pleasantly…and I was in love.

I wanted to learn how to use a camera like that.

Learning was and is the primary goal for my year away from work.  Fortunately for me, I’ve really ‘never stopped learning’–in quotes because that sounds cliched, however true it may be!  And to be honest, learning new things usually comes easy for me.

Usually being the key word.

So I thought I’d take this year off opportunity to develop some new hobbies.  Because of my love of travel, my obsessive blogging, and the fact that I now have a crush on a stranger’s camera, I thought photography might be a good place to start.  And I’m realizing that some things simply do not come as easily as I’d like.

I spent a good part of yesterday and today sitting at my dining room table with my new camera beside me pouring over Nikon D3000 for Dummies.  And do you know what?  I fear I may be too dumb for my dummies book.  I had no idea how complicated taking a photograph could be.  I have to press two buttons at once and spin some sort of wheely thing?  How am I supposed to do that whilst bouncing around on a whale watching boat?  If you’ve ever complained about the price of a professional photographer, I urge you to stop.  They have skills and abilities far beyond anything I can ever imagine!  But I refuse to give up…and I did get one pretty good photo of my dog.

When was the last time you learned something new?  How did it turn out?

